Skip to content

Gout vs Pseudogout

October 17, 2007

Yesterday, I was reading Kaplan’s books for step 2 and this is what I made up about gout and pseudogout.

Gout:

>>>Monosodium urate

>>>Acute Monoarthritis

>>>Negative birefringence, Needle shape crystals, and Negative Gr stain and culture.

MC involved joint in Gout is the first toe (metatarsophalangeal joint)>>>podaGra>>>this joint is close to the Ground.

Pseudogout:

>>>Calcium Pyro-Phosphate

>>>Acute Monoarthritis (both Gaut and Pseudogout are Acute and Mono-arthritis)

>>>Positive birefringence and Rhomboid/Rectangular crystals.

MC involved joint in Pseudogout is the knee. On X-ray look for CalciumPPD crystals in joint menisci or articular cartilage>>>ChondroCalcinosis.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 28, 2007 8:46 am

    Couldn’t quite make out what you were trying to say

  2. March 21, 2008 7:41 am

    Yes, you right. It it kind of confusing. I’ll try to fix it.

  3. June 15, 2010 8:41 pm

    Gouty arthritis unquestionably is a horrible illness, my grand daddy has been suffering from the illness for several years now. It puts a lot of stress on me, witnessing a beloved relative suffer from intense joint pain over and over again. Sticking with an adequate eating plan with the goal of prevention and making use of effective medication and therapy is something I believe to be necessary. I would urge anyone who presently notices initial warning signs of inflammatory arthritis to by all means be alarmed. Better talk with a medical professional as soon as you can and modify your food intake to prevent the outbreak of the condition. It is anything but fun! Look for effective treatments and stay clear of high purine food, asparagus and so forth for prophylaxis!

  4. November 13, 2011 1:51 pm

    Very Interesting article you have here. I have been told the usual stuff about avoid red meat,alcohols ectera but one of the things I have found is avoiding wheat based products and much dairy produce too and this has seemed to work for me. A friend of mine sufferes from gout and he recommeneded it to me and it has hads an effect. I also know of a case where a friend of mines dog was diagnosed with Gout and he started the same diet for the dog and it seemed to work here too. I would not say it will work for everyone and everything but I certainly think it would be worth trying.

  5. June 9, 2013 12:32 am

    Touche. Great arguments. Keep up the good work.

  6. February 1, 2014 11:49 am

    Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Many thanks, However I am experiencing difficulties with your RSS.
    I don’t understand the reason why I cannot subscribe to it.
    Is there anybody having similar RSS problems? Anyone who knows the answer
    can you kindly respond? Thanks!!

Trackbacks

  1. Medical Facebook Groups Spam « USMLEMD

Leave a Reply

