Skip to content

Birmingham Hip Resurfacing

December 26, 2007

Yesterday I posted Hip Replacement, and in one of the comments someonetc said that there is a new procedure named Birmingham Hip. I used to work as an orthopedic surgeon more than for years ago, but since I left my country I haven’t touched a scalpel. That is why my information about the new orthopedics procedures and surgeries is not updated. Anyways, I found this modification of the hip replacement surgery so fascinating, that I decided to post some more information about it. It is a fairly new procedure approved by FDA on May 09 2006.

Lets start with who is a Candidate for Hip Resurfacing? Hip resurfacing is intended for young, active adults who are under 60 years of age and in need of a hip replacement. Adults over 60 who are living non-sedentary lifestyles may also be considered for this procedure. However, this can only be further determined by a review of your bone quality.
There are certain causes of hip arthritis that result in extreme deformity of either the head of the femur or the hip socket. These cases are usually not candidates for hip resurfacing.
After reading about hip resurfacing, you may be interested to learn whether or not you are a good candidate for the procedure. Please take a moment to answer the following questions:

  • Do I have a metal allergy?
  • Do I have insulin dependent diabetes?
  • Do I have rheumatoid arthritis that is poorly controlled or that requires prednisone medication to treat?
  • Do I have lupus?
  • Do I have chronic kidney failure?
  • Do I have other immuno-compromising diseases such as amyloidosis?

If you answered “yes” to one or more of the above questions, you are not a good candidate for hip resurfacing.
If you answered “no” to all of the above questions, you may be a good hip resurfacing candidate.
There are four primary diseases of the hip that may indicate the need for BIRMINGHAM HIP Resurfacing.

  • Osteoarthritis
  • Rheumatoid Arthritis
  • Developmental Dysplasia of the Hip
  • Avascular Necrosis

For some more information visit birminghamhipresurfacing

 

Leave a Reply

