Skip to content

CLAUDICATION WALKING PROGRAM

March 19, 2008

I did 3 days of shadowing (observeship) on the vascular floor and clinic. Before I forget I would like to put down what I learned for claudication walking program:

  • The goal is to walk for 30 minutes three times per day (every other day).
  • Speed is not a factor. Comfortable pace is best.
  • Stop walking and rest when legs are near maximal pain.
  • Rest for a few minutes, then continue walking. (Total walking time should be 3o minutes.)
  • Keep a chart of your progress. In 6-8 weeks you should be able to walk farther without stopping due to pain in your legs.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2008 12:41 pm

    I heard a vascular surgeon suggest 20 mins of bike two times a day… it seems an activity that obtains a better patient compliance. The benefits of exercise and indeed incredible!

  2. March 25, 2008 2:34 pm

    Biking is a good exercise too, but most of the vascular patients are older and I think they prefer to walk to the nearest mall and see some friends or grab a tea/coffee(decaf I guess).

    There was one 94 y/o patient who said to me that she enjoys biking, and I was a little bit surprise in the begging. Later one she said that because of her condition she has to cancel her playboy tonight. That was a joke though…

Leave a Reply

