Skip to content

A Question to All Medical Geeks

July 7, 2008

Did somebody figure out how to use the online version usmleworld question bank simultaneously with other programs or webpages. What I mean is, that usmleworld use java script and during the time it is running nothing else can be opened. So, every time you want to check something online or to look up your pdf books, you have to close usmleworld and than you will be able to see what you want. It’s a waste of time. Any ideas?

PS: I use a laptop and desktop at home, but when I go to the library I can’t bring the desktop, obviously.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Zoos permalink
    July 7, 2008 11:07 am

    Hi. I love your posts and been quite a frequent reader for some time.

    As to the answer of your question… it’s only possible on MacOS, where I can switch windows simultaneously while UW is on.

    A possible workaround with PCs would possibly be by using a Virtual Desktop, where you can have multiple desktops… check it out here and give it a try and let me know
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Virtual_desktop

    Zoos

  2. July 7, 2008 11:17 am

    Awesome!
    Thanks Zoos,
    I will give it a try. Hope it will work.

  3. July 7, 2008 11:51 am

    @Zoos: I tried VirtualWin and it works perfectly. The only issue is that when I copy and paste information from web pages (e.g. emedicine) to my notes, it gives me the warning that while usmleworld is running, copying and pasting is not allowed. I gotta be careful. I heard some stories for people being banned for different reasons including trying to copy materials.

  4. Zoos permalink
    July 8, 2008 11:05 pm

    The copy & paste nor “printscreen” will work. You gotta be honest and just type your notes, browse or do anything else.

  5. July 9, 2008 8:27 am

    I understand the copyrights rules and don’t want to still the honest hard work of other people. I don’t try to copy anything from UW, but anytime when, let’s say I want to find the definition of a word (not from UW Q-bank) and I copy and paste this word into the dictionary (off-line dictionary), it gives me the warning from UW.
    Anyways, the virtual desktop is working very well, which is more important.
    Thanks!

  6. booze permalink
    August 1, 2008 10:22 am

    if you can see it with ur eyes..then its saved in ur brain..is it not true.?

    now…JUST use a laptop and instead of your eyes infront of it…use a digital camera on autofocus……..Lol… take a pic of whole page BOOOOO!!! u got all pages in form of pics now..;)

  7. August 8, 2008 10:31 am

    @booze: I like this approach of making photocopies of the materials in your brain. I have seen videos of people who can do that, but most of them are diagnosed with autistic disorder. They develop some extraordinary brain skills but lack the basic ones.

    However, it is going to be so much easier for us if we had enormous capabilities to store and remember information.

    By the way how many pictures did you take so far?

  8. January 21, 2014 5:18 am

    Hi there it’s me, I am also visiting this site daily, this web page
    is genuinely fastidious and the viewers are in fact sharing nice thoughts.

Leave a Reply

