Skip to content

Poll: How many hours do you spend on average per day studying for USMLE?

July 9, 2008
tags:

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2008 2:49 am

    Doesn’t it depend on how much near is the test? Or can you keep the 8 hs a day constantly?

  2. July 10, 2008 5:37 am

    It really depends on a whole bunch of things, so I do not know what to say.

  3. July 10, 2008 8:55 am

    @Alberto and Y.S.: I agree with both of you. I know that it is so difficult to estimate how many hours exactly you study everyday.

    Here it is what I think about studying hours and schedules. Studying, like everything else we do in our life (eating, watching TV, brushing teeth, taking a shower) is a habit. To maintain this habit, you need to enforce it daily, otherwise you will lose the momentum. People say bad habits die hard. How about the good habits? They die just for few days, if you don’t keep up working on them. That’s why even if I don’t feel like studying some days, I still spend the same amount of time of 8 hours on my desk, with the books. Even if it a slow day I will still learn something, which is better than nothing.

    Why I chose 8 hours? These are the usual working hours. I guess, somebody did research and they figured out that 8 hours is the amount of time a normal person, can be still alert. That’s why I try not to study less than these hours and more than these hours. 8 hours per day. That’s it.

    P.S. Blogging is a huge waste of time though. I would better go back to my studying schedule NOW!

  4. July 10, 2008 1:04 pm

    8 hours of studying other than your job?

  5. July 10, 2008 1:31 pm

    Yes, I try to study 8 hours, but some days like today I waste a lot of time with all the gadgets I have;however, I always try to catch up later with my studying.

  6. lezarditto permalink
    November 27, 2008 12:01 am

    motivation is a subsidiary of discipline !

    you have to love learning , so studying usmle can be ur recreation.
    don’t forget to maintain a good blood circulation. keep your body in motion if your not studying.
    don’t forget to drink water it raises the mood.

    your brain ,body, heart ,friends,stretch them !

    forget about scoring, be certain of what you want from usmle, is it a score , just being a good doctor,just being a great doctor ? you will get what you want.

    once things frankly clear in your brain, your heart will establish your studying hours with harmony

    its all about the real intentions & a frank heart baby.

  7. November 27, 2008 8:33 am

    @lezarditto: I can’t agree more with you. This is what I am talking about. On a first place you have to love what you doing,and than you need to put some efforts and time towards achieving your definitive goal.
    I would say, that this is the best comment on this blog so far. Thanks!
    BTW, there is another poll related to what you saying:
    https://usmlemd.wordpress.com/2008/10/15/polldaddy-is-part-of-wordpress-me-like-it/

  8. RaiulBaztepo permalink
    March 28, 2009 3:21 pm

    Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

  9. April 7, 2009 4:40 pm

    Hello !!! 🙂
    My name is Piter Kokoniz. oOnly want to tell, that your posts are really interesting
    And want to ask you: what was the reasson for you to start this blog?
    Sorry for my bad english:)
    Tnx!
    Your Piter

Leave a Reply

