Skip to content

POLL:What is Your Favorite Medical Specialty?

August 14, 2008

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2008 5:55 pm

    Currently my dream is a combined Psychiatry-Family medicine specialty. Too bad there are only 7 programs that offer 11 positions total in the entire country!!!

    Similar specialties that I am interested in:

    Medicine-Family medicine
    Medicine-Psychiatry

    Again those are very rare too. Plus, they are 5 year programs.

    What will you be applying for?

  2. August 14, 2008 6:52 pm

    I already voted for Family Medicine. This is the one and only specialty I want.

  3. ZR Mom permalink
    August 18, 2008 10:00 am

    I think I will vote either for Psychiatry or for Internal Meds
    Derma iz beyond my dreams

  4. August 18, 2008 12:43 pm

    @ZR Mom: Derma is pretty competitive and very cool specialty. Have you seen how the dermatologists look in some of these “make over” shows?…like Hollywood stars. I can’t really tell what makes them look like that, the money, the connections, or the botox (they have plenty of it), but they look OK and a bit fakish of course. However, I wouldn’t mind working derma, but…nobody will let me do it.

  5. August 18, 2008 3:45 pm

    So, why Family? Easiest to get? or a calling?

  6. August 18, 2008 8:58 pm

    As far as I know all the specialties are competitive now. So, you can’t really rely on the fact that one specialty is easier than another one.

    I believe that you must apply for a residency program you like. I like family medicine, and I am going to apply only for fam med. Why I like it? This is another question.

Trackbacks

  1. Most Competitive Residencies for 2008 « USMLEMD

Leave a Reply

