Skip to content

Problems with the Application for Russian med students USMLE takers

August 16, 2008

Yes, indeed, there are many problems with the application forms and process for USMLE. It takes a lot of time and patients to do everything properly. I remember how many days I wasted until I finally got everything done.

Here is the story of the Russian USMLE applicant and blogger efenem.

Bad news for Russian med students USMLE takers « Efenem’s Weblog

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2008 4:13 pm

    This kind of bull**** can happen anywhere. Imagine a student applying to ECFMG from Africa. Where some school officials do not know where the US is on a map, never mind not knowing how to read English or not knowing what to do with such forms!!!

    I am currently crossing my fingers such stupidity does not happen to me because some things happened on my side of the fence and I do not know how simple or how smooth the change in plans is going to be.

    Because of somethings that happened I wont be eligible for Step 1 in Sep. anymore. I signed up for a Sep-Oct-Nov slot. I still did not send the form that my Dean signed because of what happened (me not being eligible anymore). And now I do not know what to do. 😦

  2. August 16, 2008 10:52 pm

    As far as I know they can withhold the test score reporting until the medical student status has been verified.

  3. August 17, 2008 6:14 am

    Do you mean I can take this exam even if I am not eligible for it. And the only thing that would happen is that they will withhold my report?!

    Should I send the form signed by my Dean even though it is not accurate anymore? (he signed that I will be eligible by Sep. and now I am not) Should I send it anyway?

  4. August 17, 2008 11:19 am

    @Y.S.:Sorry to hear that you won’t be able to write the exam soon. Look at the bright side. That is an opportunity to study more and to achieve the 99 score.
    @efenem:I graduated in eastern European country, but I didn’t have major problems with the papers. It was costly and time consuming process, but overall it was OK. Also, I am an old graduate and there was no rush to get all the papers right away.

  5. karen permalink
    July 1, 2009 9:40 pm

    the preparation for usmle is very strong, here any resources free : step 1,2,3.

Leave a Reply

