Skip to content

Ear Plugs, Studying, Sleeping, and Exam Taking

September 12, 2008

I don’t know about you guys, but I have very good ears. I am so sensitive to any sound. Sometime is really hard for me to concentrate. The only way around this problem are the earplugs. They are lifesavers, especially when any sound drives you crazy.

When I was taking step 1, I was so glad that they allowed me to use the foam plugs I had. On the real exam they give you some sort of earmuffs, but I prefer to use my ear plugs, because I am used to them. The last thing I want on the exam is earmuffs that don’t isolate the noise very well. That could be enough to screw me up big time.

I am glad that USMLE still allow the use of your own ear plugs during the exam, beside the condition that you need to leave the ear plugs at the front desk any time you go for short break. So, before you go to the exam, don’t forget to get a new pair:)

I use this type of ear plugs for studying. They are cheap, easy to use, and give perfect isolation for any type of noises.I tried to use them for sleeping too, but they are a bit large and when I sleep on my side, it is not very comfortable for my ears. I cut them on half, and now they work well. However, I did some research on line, and decided to go for special ear plugs for sleeping.

More information and comparison between a whole bunch of ear care, you can find on this website.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2008 9:30 pm

    Do they sell them at the supermarket or ill find them at the pharmacy?

  2. September 23, 2008 12:48 pm

    You can find them everywhere. The one on the picture, which is the best for sleeping cannot be found easily in Canada. I ordered it from USA.

  3. john permalink
    May 23, 2009 11:11 am

    blue tac; it provides a seal against any noise and is discrete

  4. yoyi77 permalink
    July 13, 2009 2:10 pm

    Directions for Mack’s earplugs: http://www.macksearplugs.com/pillow-soft-earplugs-value-pack-details.htm

  5. January 16, 2010 3:22 pm

    It is important to take care to look after your hearing, I in reality like taking care hearing and whilst I do agree with the above-mentioned poster and I really hope I do not get shot down for stating this, but I believe it is essential to take all things in moderation.

  6. March 15, 2011 9:35 am

    Like a lot of other people, I recently discovered “The World’s Finest Natural Ear Plugs” at http://www.earplugsonline.com. In addition to being super comfortable, inexpensive, durable and reusable, they also have the highest noise reduction rating of any ear plug on the market with an NRR of 34. I sleep with them in every night and have been using them to study too. Great product, I highly recommend it.

Trackbacks

  1. Nootropics / smart drugs and USMLE studying « USMLEMD
  2. Nootropics / smart drugs and USMLE studying | Nootropics

Leave a Reply

