Skip to content

Apple Core Lesion

October 5, 2007

The radiologic hallmarks of the classic colonic “apple core” lesion are a relatively short, sharply defined region of annular, constricting colonic narrowing with overhanging margins; ulcerated mucosa; and an eccentric and irregular lumen. Can be seen in the esophagus as well.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2008 11:04 am

    thank you for the concise definition and good pix of “apple core lesion.”

  2. March 27, 2008 11:25 am

    You are welcome! The first time when I read the term “apple core lesion” I couldn’t explain it to myself. Apple core? You gotta be kidding! Only after I saw the picture, I finally understood the idea behind the name.

  3. Marion permalink
    January 21, 2010 11:17 am

    How would you translate Apple Core adenocarcinoma?

  4. Medschoolneverends permalink
    May 14, 2010 3:46 pm

    From my understanding, and please correct me if I’m wrong, but Adenocarcinomas on the right side tend to grow as polypoid, exophytic masses that extend along one wall, whereas carcinomas on the left side tend to grow as annular, circular, napkin-ring obstructions of the bowel.

    The Barium enema x-ray shows an apple core because the obstruction/cancer is like a ring around the lumen.

    I didn’t really understand that until I looked at this page, so great job!

  5. May 10, 2013 10:21 pm

    At this time it appears like Drupal is the preferred blogging platform out there right now.
    (from what I’ve read) Is that what you’re using on your blog?

  6. May 16, 2013 11:02 pm

    I blog often and I seriously thank you for your content.
    This article has really peaked my interest.
    I will bookmark your site and keep checking for
    new details about once a week. I subscribed to your RSS feed
    too.

  7. May 18, 2013 11:39 am

    I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make this website
    yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?

    Plz reply as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. kudos

  8. June 28, 2013 12:26 pm

    It’s remarkable in support of me to have a site, which is valuable designed for my experience. thanks admin

Leave a comment